Would people do a crochet club?

Just wondering. I really enjoy crochet haha. We could make amigurumis.

5 Likes

OMG! I was actually just talking to Brendan the other day of doing a crochet circle club! So yes! I will be down!

3 Likes

Cool!!! I have a book and some ideas on how to start complete beginners off. I’ve been thinking about starting this club for a bit now. I hope we get some more people expressing interest and then we can launch!

1 Like

I was thinking of doing a small presentation to start on some crochet subfield like mathematical modeling, yarn bombing, amigurumi, apparel making, and going over different stitch styles and yarn types then having an hour or so of just crocheting together

1 Like

Am intrigued!

2 Likes

Would also join!!

2 Likes

What’s yarn bombing? :open_mouth:

Do you all think we should do a “start from scratch. I know nothing” level or just crochet together?

Maybe beginners could join the club at the beginning and people who already know some can join a bit later? What do you think?

Maybe a “standalone learning event” for beginners - a separate session before the club officially starts.

3 Likes

How about this!

One time event

• For absolute beginners

Learning goals:

• Learn the basic stitches (US terminology): single, double, triple, half double, slip stitches.
  • Make a back and forth square
  • Make a magic circle
  • Learn to increase and invisible decrease
  • Event project: Make a small pin cushion

Prereqs:
You must have all the materials you might need:

• a crochet hook (any size you’re comfortable with. Not too big and not too small. Any around H or 4-5mm is fine.)
  • appropriate sized yarn for that hook (any worsted weight / aran should be fine)
  • pair of scissors
  • needle with hole appropriate for your yarn
  • a bit of stuffing
  • patience and good humour
    Feel free to ask for recommendations on what to buy in the forum.

Price: $10
Participants: Up to 12
Schedule: TBA

Crochet Club